Game Chat – Crows v Roos

Written by Motts on March 1 2015

It will be the first hit-out in the royal blue and white for a number of Kangaroos in Port Lincoln today. A promising summer on the training track for free agent acquisitions Shaun Higgins and Jarrad Waite should see them play a prominent role against the Crows.

Meanwhile three of the players picked up in the National and Rookie Drafts have their chance to play for the club, with Sam Durdin, Daniel Nielson and Will Fordham all named in the 29 man squad.

There are a number of North’s key position players not making the trip to Adelaide, with the likes of Aaron Black, Lachlan Hansen, Nathan Grima, Scott Thompson and Michael Firrito all not playing for one reason or another. It allows the youngsters, Durdin and Nielson especially, the time to shine at either end of the ground if given game time.

Brad Scott indicated on Thursday that he’ll be playing some blokes out of position on the day so be wary that Supercoach scores may be artificially inflated. “We’ve got the flexibility to structure up our forward line a bit differently so we’ll have a look at all different aspects and probably play a few guys through the midfield who haven’t spent much time in there before”, Scott said. 

The coach went on to note that Higgins would likely spend time running through the midfield. Considering Andrew Swallow will be absent on the weekend, the former Bulldog will be one of the most experienced players in the centre of the ground.

For the Cows, up to seven players could make their debut. 

Trade period recruits Kyle Cheney and Luke Lowden, defenders Harrison Wigg and Sam Siggins, and rookie-listed trio Jake Kelly, Reilly O’Brien and Keenan Ramsey have been included in the squad. 

Wigg was selected with the club’s second pick (No.35 overall) in last year’s AFL National Draft, while O’Brien and Ramsey became Cows in the Rookie Draft.

Siggins, 20, is in line to play his first game since being recruited with pick No.62 in the 2012 National Draft. In his second year on the rookie list, Kelly could also pull on the tricolours for the first time.

Cheap as chips midfielder, NvB, will make his long-awaited return from injury. Van Berlo hasn’t played at any level since rupturing his Achilles tendon at training in January last year. The match will be Taylor Walker’s first as captain.

Experienced players Scott Thompson, David Mackay, Sam Jacobs, Richard Douglas and Patrick Dangerfield will sit out the game as part of their management ahead of Round One. Mackay (hamstring) and Jacobs (knee) have returned to full training after minor setbacks.

Defenders Brent Reilly (fractured bonce), Andy Otten (knee) and Sam Shaw (hamstring), and half-forward Riley Knight (ankle) were unavailable for selection because of injury. Matt Crouch is building towards full fitness after ankle surgery.

The club is taking a conservative approach with first-year talls Jake Lever, Harry Dear and Mitch McGovern, as well as rookie Anthony Wilson.

Should be a good game. Pity they aren’t televising it – you can watch it on the clubs’ websites though. 

Got anyone in particular you’ll have the binoculars trained on?


Leave a comment / Scroll to bottom

10 thoughts on “Game Chat – Crows v Roos”

  1. 164 Eddie Betts

    136 Shaun Higgins

    131 Majak Daw

    127 Brad Crouch

    101 Jarrad Waite

    96 Jarryd Lyons

    93 Jamie Macmillan

    89 Nick Dal Santo

    89 Jack Ziebell

    85 Rory Laird

    80 Ben Cunnington

    80 Ben Jacobs

    79 Sam Kerridge

    76 Matthew Jaensch

    75 Rory Sloane

    75 Daniel Wells

    74 Matthew Wright

    73 Cam Ellis-Yolmen

    72 Mitch Grigg

    68 Kayne Turner

    68 Ryan Bastinac

    66 Brent Harvey

    63 Luke Brown

    60 Joel Tippett

    59 Nathan van Berlo

    59 Drew Petrie

    59 Keenan Ramsey

    59 Taylor Walker

    58 Sam Gibson

    58 Daniel Currie

    57 Daniel Talia

    56 Sam Siggins

    56 Brodie Martin

    54 Reilly O’Brien

    51 Luke McDonald

    50 Scott McMahon

    49 Josh Jenkins

    49 Shaun Atley

    46 Charlie Cameron

    45 James Podsiadly

    42 Kyle Hartigan

    42 Trent Dumont

    33 Jake Kelly

    32 Robbie Tarrant

    31 Ricky Henderson

    30 Lindsay Thomas

    28 Max Warren

    23 Tom Lynch

    20 Ben Brown

    16 Brad McKenzie

    12 Harrison Wigg

    7 Daniel Nielson



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *